Well-being in Healthcare Education

Well-being in Healthcare Education - The Academy of Medical Educators' Spring Academic Meeting

 Heads purchased
Our annual one day conference takes place at The Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Cardiff on Thursday 4 April 2019.  Click here for venue, travel and accessibility details.
In 2012 the GMC produced guidelines for supporting medical students with mental health conditions. Since then the well-being of students, trainees and practitioners in all aspects of healthcare education has gained further recognition as contributing directly to retention of staff and quality of care. We know that fear of the consequences of disclosing mental ill-health exerts a massive effect on medical students’, junior doctors’ and other health professionals’ help-seeking behaviour. There is clearly a lot more to be learnt about what constitutes well-being in such an intense learning and working environment and how it can be achieved in over-stretched and under-resourced institutions. This conference seeks to bring together and debate established and new thinking around making our environments healthier and more supportive for everyone.


Prof GrantProf Mattick

Register for the conference here.  You can use this e-flyer to help promote the confernce to colleagues and contacts.
Early bird rates are available until 31 January 2019
Keynote speakers - Professor Andrew Grant FAcadMEd, Head of Graduate Entry Medicine, Swansea University and Professor Karen Mattick, Profesor of Medical Education, University of Exeter
ABSTRACTS - Deadline extended to 7 November!
This meeting will feature a wide range of talks, posters and workshops alongside key-note speakers. Abstracts are invited that address the promotion of, or overcoming the obstacles to, the well-being of teachers and learners in all aspects of healthcare education, including designing and planning learning, teaching and facilitating learning, assessment including recruitment and selection, educational research and scholarship, and management and leadership of healthcare education.

 Vaughan Gething

Special Guest Speaker, Vaughan Gething AM, Welsh Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Services
Abstracts (maximum 250 words) will be peer reviewed.  Acceptance will be based on content, available space, and overall program balance.  Authors should indicate preference for workshop, short presentation or poster when submitting their abstract. The abstract submission deadline is 5pm 7 November 2018. Notification regarding acceptance will be emailed to authors by 7 December. 
Submit your abstract here