Our Honorary Fellows

In memoriam - Professor Peter Kopelman HonFAcadMEd

P Kopelman HFThe Academy was saddened to hear of the death of one of our Honorary Fellows, Professor Peter Kopelman.  Peter had a longstanding interest in medical education and was a valued and influential supporter of the Academy and its work to raise standards in medical education since being a member of the Academy’s first transition Council in 2006. He was awarded Honorary Fellowship of the Academy in 2018.

Peter was the interim Vice-Chancellor of the University of London 2018-2019. He had previously served as the Principal of St George's, University London, and had been a consultant physician at St George’s NHS Healthcare Trust. Peter began his medical training at St George’s Hospital Medical School, and he was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science degree by St George’s University in 2017.

Prior to his appointment at St George's, Peter had been Vice-Principal of Queen Mary University, London and Deputy Warden of Barts and the London School of Medicine, and prior to this Dean of the Faculty of Health, University of East Anglia.    

Peter was an enthusiastic medical educator, he chaired the Clinical Examining Board of the  Royal College of Physicians, the Royal Pharmaceutical Society Faculty and Education Board, and Health Education England’s Oversight Board for Medical Associate Practitioners. He was also a member of the Medical Education England Board, the governance board of the Centre for Workforce Intelligence, deputy chairman of University UK’s health education research policy group and a member of the UK Higher Education Advisory Committee.

Peter’s influence in medical education will touch the lives of many healthcare professionals. Our deepest sympathy is extended to his family.


Here is a list of all of the individuals whose extraordinary contributions in the field of medical education the Academy has sought to recognise through Honorary Fellowship.

Honorary Fellow
Honorary Fellow
Professor Dame Carol Black 2009 Professor Jane Dacre 2014
Professor John Bligh 2009 Professor I C McManus  2014
Professor Sir Kenneth Calman 2009 Dr Clifford Mann (deceased) 2014
Professor Stuart Macpherson 2009 Dr John Norcini 2014
Professor Dame Lesley Southgate 2009 Professor Dame Sue Bailey 2015
Professor Sir John Tooke 2009 Professor Jennifer Cleland 2015
Dr Graham Buckley 2010 Professor Wendy Reid 2015
Professor John Collins 2010 Professor Terence Stephenson 2015
Professor Sir Neil Douglas (deceased) 2010 Professor Iain Cameron 2016
Professor Sir Christopher Edwards 2010 Dr Erik Driessen 2016
Professor David Haslam 2010 Dr Eric Holmboe 2016
Professor Sir Donald Irvine 2010 Professor Cees van der Vleuten 2016
Mr Keith Lawrey 2010 Professor Val Wass 2016
Professor Sir Peter Rubin 2010 Professor Peter Donnelly 2017
Dr Fiona Godlee 2011 Professor Tim Dornan 2017
Professor Ron Harden 2011 Professor Jenny Higham 2017
Professor Jacky Hayden 2011 Professor Ed Peile 2017
Professor James McKillop 2011 Professor Colin Melville 2018
Professor Elisabeth Paice 2011 David Russell 2018
Professor Stewart Petersen 2011 Professor Wendy Burn 2018
Professor David Stewart Sowden 2011 Professor David Croisdale-Appleby 2018
Dr Thomas R Viggiano 2011 Professor Anne Garden 2018
Dr Mike Watson 2011 Professor Sheila the Baroness Hollins 2018
Professor Sir Graham Catto 2012 Professor Neil Johnson 2018
Professor John Jenkins 2012 Professor Peter Kopelman (deceased) 2018
Professor Tony Weetman 2012 Professor Peter Lees 2018
Dr Kevin Eva 2013 Professor Derek Gallen 2019
Sir Denis Pereira Gray 2013 Professor Sean Hilton 2019
Professor Trudie Roberts 2013 Professor Dame Clare Marx 2019
Dr Chris Wiltsher (deceased) 2013 Dr David A Ross  2019