Calman Lecture & President's Evening


The Calman Lecture
The Annual prestigious Calman Lecture is given in honour of Sir Kenneth Calman Hon FAcadMEd, one of the founders of the Academy of Medical Educators.  As a tribute to Sir Ken's own enormous involvement, leadership and contribution to teaching, learning and the organisation of medical training, the general theme for the Calman Lectures is reflections on the education of doctors.  
On 6 December we were privileged to hear from Professor Peter Lees, chief executive and medical director of the UK intercollegiate Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management (FMLM) on Expert as Leader or Expert Leader? Discussing the development of leaders, their styles and the impact on those around them. We were also very honoured that Sir Kenneth Calman himself was in attendance.   
The lecture was very well received by nearly 100 Members, Fellows and Honorary Fellows of the Academy. President Jacky Hayden CBE was also very pleased to confer new Honorary Fellowships on Professor Peter Lees, Professor David Croisdale-Appleby (who has recently taken on the role of lay–representative on AoME’s Council), Professor Anne Garden, Professor Sheila Hollins and Professor Wendy Burn. Honorary Fellowship is the Academy’s highest award. It is conferred on exceptional individuals whose contributions to medical education are often internationally recognised and who have made a significant contribution to medical education in the United Kingdom  
P Lees HF  D Croisdale-Appleby HF Anne Garden HF S Hollins HF W Burns HF
The winner of the AoME Dame Lesley Southgate Travelling Fellowship in Assessment 2017 Dr Michael Trimble, Consultant Physician in Acute Medicine, Belfast Trust presented his project - Assessment in ethics: potential for structured on-line case based formative assessments.   
 The Academy was also delighted to welcome a number of new Members and Fellows to receive their certificates from the President.
 R Perkins Member  R A Tauni Member  J Harris Fellow  H Dorkins Fellow  M Parris Fellow  B Malik Member
 L - R Rosslyn Perkins MAcadMEd, Rahat A Tauni MAcadMEd, Joanne Harris FAcadMEd, Huw Dorkins FAcadMEd, Marion Parris FAcadMEd, Bilal Malik MAcadMEd
Previous Calman Lecturers include:   
2017 Professor Jenny Higham  
2016 Professor Cees van der Vleuten     
2015 Sir Terence Stephenson  
2014 David Haslam CBE  
2013 Professor Ian Cumming  
2012 Lord Nigel Crisp KCB  
2011 Sir Peter Rubin  
2010 Professor Karen Mann  
2009 Dr Bill Bryson