AoME 2022

Recognition of Excellence through Accredited Courses in Medical Education and

Re-energising Medical Education: New Era, New Ways of Teaching and Learning

These two events took place at the Albert Hall Nottingham on 14 and 15 June respectively. They were our first face-to-face events in almost three years and we were delighted with the level of interest and interaction from educators.

Recognition of Excellence was a half-day symposium aimed at organisers of PG Certificate / Diploma & Masters programmes in Medical or Healthcare Education. The keynote speaker was Dr Anton Saayman Director of Educational Improvement and Governance, Health Education and Improvement Wales (HEIW) who took a brief look forward at Postgraduate medical education. Professor Andrew Grant also spoke about reflection, then we handed over to a panel of course leaders to try and answer the question: How can we ensure the best support for students of postgraduate and undergraduate medical education programmes; a synergistic approach? We are grateful to everyone who took part and the Academy now has a much clearer picture of how course leaders and their students can benefit from improved lines of communication, forums for networking and simplified application process. We will be applying the feedback from delegates to our Accreditation Plus scheme, and we hope, with their input we have sown the seeds for a new community that shares ideas, advice and best practice around both post- and undergraduate medical education resources.

symposium audience    

  Anton lectern 3 Small

Re-energising Medical Education was our annual summer academic meeting. Like many other organisations we took the decision to cancel our main 2020 event and then to hold a virtual conference in 2021. It was good to be back in a live venue, and the Albert Hall team certainly looked after us in some very grand surroundings. The conference showcased the work of many early career and much more experienced educators, through posters, short presentation and workshops, all exploring the creative and adaptive approaches in medical education developed during and since the COVID-19 pandemic. We are grateful to Professor Nisha Dogra and Dr Susi Caesar who gave the keynote talks How understanding and embracing diversity can help create an open, supportive, and inclusive culture and Why is appraisal like chocolate? respectively.
Nisha lectern2 Small Susi Caesar slide Small Jacky lectern 2 Small
The annual poster prize was won by Georgia Beech and Eleanor Sleep, Wexham Park Hospital, for Spill the Tea: An Informal Debrief and Reflection Session to Improve Medical Student Wellbeing Spill the tea Small Poster prize 2 Small
The President was delighted to have the opportunity to present two Honorary Fellowships to Professor Nisha Dogra and Professor Stephen Riley at the event, as well as a number of Membership and Fellowship awards (l-r Prof Nisha Dogra HonFAcadMEd; Prof, Stephen Riley HonFAcadMEd; Mr Mohan Singh FAcadMEd; Dr Anish Patil MAcadMEd; Dr Immad Qureshi MAcadMEd; Dr Otilia Azamfirei MAcadMEd; Dr Neil Colquhoun (Associate Membership)
Nisha Jacky HF Small Stephen Riley 1 Small Mohan Singh 2 Small Anish Patil 2 Small
Immad Qureshi 2 Small Otilia Azamfirei 2 Small Neil Colquhoun 2 Small  
Honorary Fellowship is the Academy's highest award. You can read the citations for Professor Dogra and Professor Riley here 

The Academy of Medical Educators gratefully acknowledge the support of:

ASME Logo RGB transparent background - Copy BMA Dual Brandmark Master RGB CU Logo
Elsevier Wesleyan Logo